English | French | Spanish | Deutch

Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Encourage House Appropriations to change draft language ASAP

Today People Against Leigh Syndrome (PALS) submitted a letter to the Chairmen and Ranking Minority Members of the House Appropriations Committee urging those members to change draft language in the House FY2016 Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration and Related Agencies Appropriates bill. Contained within the legislation is Section 736, which would prohibit the United States from advancing critical research that would not only prevent mitochondrial diseases such as Leigh syndrome, but would also hinder our country’s position as a leader in the scientific sphere.

A link of our letter is included here: PALS Letter to House Appropriations Committee Final

We urge all PALS supporters to draft a letter and send it to their representatives. Please feel free to use our letter as a guide. We must have our voices heard. Changing this draft language in this bill will allow research to move forward that may ultimately result in viable treatments and one day a cure.

If any PALS patients/ families are from states or are represented from the below list, here is a list of individuals who sit on the committee that is dealing with the bill.  Mailing addresses can be found at www.house.gov.


  • Harold Rogers, Kentucky, Chairman
  • Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
  • Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama
  • Kay Granger, Texas
  • Michael K. Simpson, Idaho
  • John Abney Culberson, Texas
  • Ander Crenshaw, Florida
  • John R. Carter, Texas
  • Ken Calvert, California
  • Tom Cole, Oklahoma
  • Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida
  • Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania
  • Tom Graves, Georgia
  • Kevin Yoder, Kansas
  • Steve Womack, Arkansas
  • Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska
  • Tom Rooney, Florida
  • Chuck Fleischmann, Tennessee
  • Jaime Herrera Beutler, Washington
  • David Joyce, Ohio
  • David Valadao, California
  • Andy Harris, MD, Maryland
  • Martha Roby, Alabama
  • Mark Amodei, Nevada
  • Chris Stewart, Utah
  • Scott Rigell, Virginia
  • David Jolly, Florida
  • David Young, Iowa
  • Evan Jenkins, West Virginia
  • Steven Palazzo, Mississippi


  • Nita M. Lowey, New York
  • Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
  • Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana
  • José E. Serrano, New York
  • Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut
  • David E. Price, North Carolina
  • Lucille Roybal-Allard, California
  • Sam Farr, California
  • Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania
  • Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Georgia
  • Barbara Lee, California
  • Michael M. Honda, California
  • Betty McCollum, Minnesota
  • Steve Israel, New York
  • Tim Ryan, Ohio
  • C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, Maryland
  • Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Florida
  • Henry Cuellar, Texas
  • Chellie Pingree, Maine
  • Mike Quigley, Illinois
  • Derek Kilmer, Washington


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.